DBA Fundamentals December 2017

Realised now that I didn’t create one for November. I blame PASS Summit!

Words: 1050

Time to read: ~ 5 minutes

What’s On

Ever wanted to join a webinar but couldn’t because of the time? Maybe the presentations happen during your commute or maybe the difference in time zones means you’d need to wake up at 03:00?

Then when you’re watching the session back on YouTube at dbafuntube.org (shameless plug) you realize that you have a question that the presenter hasn’t answered and nobody else has asked? Or you realize that what the presenter is talking about is what your manager started talking about last week and now expects you to be an expert on but you can’t ask the presenter where to get more information.

Now, you can always get in touch with the dbafundamentals email “dbafundamentals@sqlpass.org” or the twitter account “@dbafun” for more information but we understand that sometimes you want to go straight to the source.

That’s why, with the individual presenter’s permissions, we are trialing Simulated Webcasts!

Hold on, I’ll explain

Fundamentally, these are recorded webinars but the differences lies in the possibility of interaction.

You’re watching the presentation and the presenter mentions a handout. Normally it’s a case of too late, too bad, and tough luck but with Simulated Webcasts, you have access to that handout.

Same with polls but, more importantly, same with questions.

That’s why we are only doing this with presenters permissions. There’s no point in being able to collect the questions from the attendees if we’re just hoarding them. Any question that we receive from these, we pass onto the presenter, with the hope that they get in touch with the questioner, email with the answer, link to other sources, create a blog post, etc.

Mainly, we don’t want the knowledge to hit a dead end, we want to get the information out there!

We’ll be trialing broadcasting these at different times to accommodate as many time zones as possible. Initially, we’re looking at…

  • Pacific Time,
  • Europe,
  • Middle East,
  • India, and
  • Australia

     

…but if the demand is there, we could look at expanding it out more.

We’re going to start off with a bang with the recent presentation of “SQL Server 2017 – Deep Dive” by Bob Ward.

Check out the “Simulated Webinar” section below for the links.

Sessions

Virginia Mushkatblat ( Twitter )

“SSIS 2016 Intermediate”

Tue, 5 Dec 2017 at 11:00 CST
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 at 09:00 PST
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 at 17:00  UTC
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 at 20:00 UTC +3
Tue, 5 Dec 2017 at 22:30 IST
Wed, 6 Dec 2017 at 04:00 AEDT

Microsoft SSIS was low on new features in a couple of releases and now it is catching up really quickly – and we want you to catch up with us and Microsoft. There were a lot of new features in 2016 and 2017, and they include connectivity, OS, operating on big data, and many many more. We will be covering selective new features such as how to operate an Azure blobs, do AlwaysOnEncryption, updating Odata in our session.

Kevin Kline ( Blog | Twitter )

“Ten Surprising Performance Killers on Microsoft SQL Server”

Mon, 11 Dec 2017 at 20:30 CST
Mon, 11 Dec 2017 at 18:30 PST
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 02:30 UTC
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 05:30 UTC +3
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 08:00 IST
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 13:30 AEDT

Microsoft SQL Server is among the most popular and widely used data platforms of all time with a reputation for resilience, performance, and ease of administration. But wait – performance killers are lurking deep inside your SQL Servers! Learn about these performance killers that most DBAs and Devs are unaware of in this demo-packed session. We will cover a variety of significant issues, ranging from server-side OS settings, file layout, memory settings, and database design to coding issues like data types and cursors. This session will answer questions like:

  • What Windows Server and SQL Server defaults are likely to make application performance worse?
  • What is a forwarded record indicator and why is it a red flag?
  • Why do GUIDs and oversized data type columns decrease performance?
  • How does changing a database file layout help or hurt performance?
  • What memory setting should you always change from the default?

Learn these performance killers now so that you will save millions of CPU cycles in the future. These mistakes are the “low hanging fruit” of SQL Server application performance. Once you apply the lessons learned from this session, you will you’re your applications performing at a higher level of efficiency and effectiveness than before.

SQL Tiger Team ( Blog | Twitter )

“SQL Operations Studio – SQL Tiger Team Introduction”

Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 11:00 CST
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 09:00 PST
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 17:00 UTC
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 20:00 UTC +3
Tue, 12 Dec 2017 at 22:30 IST
Wed, 13 Dec 2017 at 04:00 AEDT

This product is so new even the official name of this exiting product can’t be released just yet, but will be before the session. Join us in this hands-on session to learn about the all new SQL Server manageability and development tool. It will be able to run on Windows, macOS and Linux and will be released with 2017. We will walk through end-to-end database development and management scenarios with SQL Server running anywhere with live demos. We will also demonstrate how a portfolio of SQL Server tools working together can empower database development, administration and DevOps practices much more efficiently, effectively and easily. At the end of session, we will host a Q&A session to share the product insight and future roadmap.

Simulated Webinar

Bob Ward ( Blog | Twitter )

“SQL Server 2017 – Deep Dive”

Simulated – 12/7/17 – Noon Pacific

Simulated – 12/7/17 – Noon Europe

Simulated – 12/7/17 – Noon Middle East

Simulated – 12/7/17 – Noon India

Simulated – 12/7/17 – Noon Australia

Other Items.

Did you read the description of SQL Operations Studio? So THAT’S what Carbon was!

The website has started to slide while we’ve worked on a few things so it’s a goal to keep that up-to-date.

We’re continuing work on getting a list of past presenters up on our website. It’s a slow, deliberate progress but it’s ongoing.
You can check it out here: Past Presenters
If you have any suggestions, please don’t be afraid to let us know.

We’ve created a Group on LinkedIn as another way to spread the information and as a platform for knowledge sharing. Check it out and let us know a). if you like it, and/or b). how you think it can be improved.
We are always open to suggestions.

Apart from that, anything you want to get in touch about, hit us up on Slack or Twitter.

Enjoy December everyone!

>1,000 words…phew! I need a coffee after that…

Author: Shane O'Neill

DBA, T-SQL and PowerShell admirer, Food, Coffee, Whiskey (not necessarily in that order)...

What's your opinion?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s